Choosing The Book of the Month (Despite it being the middle of the month…)

Hey readers! I finally chose from my TBR jar, so watch the video below to see what the book of the month is (and get to know a special guest *wink*).

Here is the synopsis of The Name of the Wind taken off of Goodreads:

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. 

The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. 

A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

Like I said I’ve heard amazing things about the Kingkiller Chronicles, so I’m super excited! Less excited about the fact that I have to read over 600 pages in about 15 days, but I pretty much dug my own grave there. So good luck to me and good luck to you if you’d like to join me! Contact me via email, twitter, whatever, let me know you’re reading with me and we can share our progress and thoughts as we go along. If I get enough fellow readers in the future, I will likely do a Goodreads reading group so we can all keep track and support each other in finding the time to read. It’s worth it; promise.

Oh, and one more thing. Since it’s difficult to find a mass of sci-fi/fantasy characters that most people would already be familiar with, I’m thinking of doing a sci-fi character review every other month and in between that time having the characters from whatever book I’m reading rate their own stories. It’s a work in progress. I’ll figure it out by the end of the month (hopefully). 

But if you have any ideas about the type of book reviews you’d like to see or fun ways of reviewing, please share! As long as you’re ok with me potentially borrowing said ideas…

Leave a Reply

